February 24, 2021

Big Husky Triathlon: Start time, live stream and PTO stars in action

One of Australia’s most iconic events is set to intrigue once again this weekend as the PTO-supported Big Husky Triathlon returns for a 16th year.

Held on the shores of the spectacular Jervis Bay Marine Park in Shoalhaven, New South Wales, the half-distance event has earned a reputation as one of the country’s favourite triathlon landing spots.

The 2021 edition is set to be as closely contested as ever, with a plethora of PTO stars fighting it out for the top step on the podium.

PTO World Ranked #18 Amelia Watkinson will be looking replicate her electric 2020 campaign this weekend. She was in red-hot form on Australian soil last year, claiming three big-race victories.

In the men’s race PTO World Ranked #31 Tim Reed, winner of the 2013 event, is pitted against Tim van Berkel (#39 in the latest PTO World Rankings).

While the professional athletes will take centre stage, the festival is set to capture the imagination of amateurs as well, with a series of races to suit to a range of ages and abilities.

Big Husky Triathlon: Start time, live stream and PTO stars in action

When is the Big Husky Triathlon?

The Big Husky Triathlon takes place on Sunday February 28, 2021, with the men’s and women’s races both getting under way at 0630 local time (2030 GMT/1530 ET on Saturday February 27).

The race starts at Jervis Bay Marine Park.

The whole weekend festival itself gets under way from 1300 local time on Friday February 26.

Big Husky live stream: Where can I watch the race?

The PTO Hub YouTube channel will carry live coverage of the men’s and women’s races, with the live stream beginning 30 minutes before the official start time.

Craig ‘Crowie’ Alexander and Pete Murray will be on hand to guide you through the day’s proceedings, providing expert commentary and analysis.

PTO athletes at Big Husky

The 2021 event is set up to be a cracker, with a collection of PTO athletes adding star quality to the fields.
With three-time event winner Craig Alexander not racing, there will be a host of athletes fancying their chances in the men’s race.

The 35-year-old Reed has proven success on the course in New South Wales after his win in 2013 and will be among the favourites.

He faces stiff competition though in the of form of compatriots van Berkel and Steve McKenna, who sits at #58 in the latest PTO World Rankings.

Scott Bayvel, Sam Betten, Levi Hauwert, Matt Lewis, Levi Maxwell, Caleb Noble, Edward Vining and Joel Wooldridge are also in the field for the men’s race.

Watkinson, winner of the PTO-supported women’s race at Hervey Bay 100 last November, also picked up IRONMAN victories at Sunshine Coast and Cairns in a prolific 2020.

Amelia will likely be joined by PTO World #21 Ellie Salthouse at the front of the field, while #54 Grace Thek, #66 Renee Kiley and #96 Courtney Gilfillan add yet more talent to the women’s line-up. Annabel Luxford, Kirra Seidel and Kylie Simpson will also be on the start line.

Big Husky Triathlon: Start time, live stream and PTO stars in action

Big Husky Triathlon prize money

The PTO has added its financial support to the 2021 event, topping up the existing prize pool of AUD $15,000 with a further AUD $20,000.

Big Husky Triathlon course

The Big Husky Triathlon course begins on the north end of Shark Net Beach. The athletes will complete two laps of a course set out in the Jervis Bay waters for a swim leg totaling 1.9km.

They will then return to shore and embark on a 90km bike leg. The competitors will complete three laps of a course which initially takes them inland and up Huskisson Road.

After that they head back towards the coast and follow Currambene Creek towards Woollamia, before looping back round towards the starting point.

The final leg totals 21.1km, as the athletes complete three laps of a route which sees them run to Plantation Point before heading back towards Shark Net Beach.

Recent winners at Big Husky Triathlon

Women’s winners

• 2020 – Sarah Crowley
• 2019 – Kate Bevilaqua
• 2018 – Jane Fardell
• 2017 – Laura Dennis
• 2016 – Mel Hauschildt

Men’s winners

• 2020 – Mitchell Cunningham
• 2019 – Craig Alexander
• 2018 – Kieran Roche
• 2017 – Craig Alexander
• 2016 – Craig Alexander
Big Husky Triathlon: Start time, live stream and PTO stars in action

Latest News

New Pro & Amateur Courses Revealed for Ibiza T100 Triathlon

Ashleigh Gentle Wins PTO US Open In Texas Heat

PTO US Open Women’s Race Preview