September 16, 2022

PTO And DAZN Expand Broadcast Deal To The USA For $1M PTO US Open

London: The Professional Triathletes Organisation (PTO) has announced that DAZN will show live coverage of the $1 million PTO US Open this weekend in Dallas (17-18 September), in an extension of their two-year broadcast deal announced in July this year

The PTO US Open women’s and men’s races are the final PTO Tour event of the year and boast strong start lists for both events.

The full PTO US Open men’s line-up can be found here and includes PTO World #3 Magnus Ditlev (DEN), #4 Lionel Sanders (CAN) and #6 Daniel Baekkegard (DEN). 

The women’s race features American PTO World #7 Taylor Knibb, who will be up against a stellar line-up of international stars including: PTO Canadian Open winner and runner-up Ashleigh Gentle (AUS) and Paula Finlay (CAN); Team Europe Collins Cup winners Kat Matthews and Holly Lawrence (GBR). Plus the resurgent Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR).

“Our final PTO Tour races of the season promise to be ultra competitive affairs, so it’s great we’ll be showing them live to sports fans on the DAZN streaming platform in the USA this weekend,” said Tim Godfrey, PTO Chief Marketing Officer. 

The commentary team for the PTO US Open races includes anchor Alex Payne, commentators: Barrie Shepley, Belinda Granger, Vicky Holland, John Gooden and Abi Stephens. There will also be appearances from former US Olympic sprinter Michael Johnson, who grew up in Dallas. 

How To Watch the PTO US Open 

If you’re in Europe or the Indian Subcontinent, you can watch LIVE exclusively on Eurosport, Discovery+ or GCN+. Highlights and race replays will be available 48 hours after the race in these regions via PTO+. If you’re in the rest of the world, you can watch LIVE on PTO+ with pre-race coverage including countdown shows and press conferences also available on the same platform.

You can also watch live on a selection of regional television broadcasters. Check the full list of broadcasters here.

Live Event Timings 

Pro Press Conference – Friday 16 September

  • 11:00 CDT (Local)
  • 09:00 PDT
  • 12:00 EDT
  • 16:00 UTC
  • 17:00 BST
  • 18:00 CET

Women’s Pro Race – Saturday 17 September

  • 11:30 CDT (Local)
  • 09:30 PDT
  • 12:30 EDT
  • 16:30 UTC
  • 17:30 BST
  • 18:30 CET

Men’s Pro Race – Sunday 18 September

  • 14:30 CDT (Local)
  • 12:30 PDT
  • 15:30 EDT
  • 19:30 UTC
  • 20:30 BST
  • 21:30 CET

-ends-

Professional Triathletes Organisation

Anthony Scammell, Communications Director [email protected]

About the Professional Triathletes Organisation

The PTO is a new body co-owned by the professional athletes, seeking to take the sport to the next level and see it grow and thrive. The inaugural PTO Tour race schedule for 2022 included: the first-ever PTO Canadian Open (July 23-24); the second edition of $1.5M Ryder Cup-style Collins Cup (August 20), which sees Team Europe take on Team USA and Team International; and the first PTO US Open (September 17-18). Each Open carries a minimum prize money of $1M and will be raced over 100km (2km swim, 80km bike and 18km run). In 2023 and 2024, the PTO Tour plans to expand with the PTO European Open and the PTO Asian Open, alongside their US and Canadian equivalents and the Collins Cup.

ABOUT DAZNDAZN is the world’s leading sports entertainment platform. The only global digital sports broadcaster, DAZN is live in over 200 countries and is a market-leader in Italy, Japan, DACH and Spain where it holds top-tier domestic football rights.  DAZN is reimagining the way people enjoy sport. With a single, frictionless platform, sports fans can watch, bet, play, share, socialise, and buy tickets, NFTs and merchandise. Live and on-demand sports content, anywhere, in any language, on any device – only on DAZN.  DAZN is a global, privately-owned company with employees in over 25 countries. For more information on DAZN, our products, people, and performance, visit www.dazngroup.com.

Latest Media Releases

Collin Chartier Leads USA’s Charge For Victory At PTO US Open

Ashleigh Gentle Runs Down Taylor Knibb In Texan Heat To Win Second PTO Open Title

It’s All To Race For In Dallas At The $1M PTO US Open

Stay up-to-date for more exciting PTO events!